Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

maxxmilo
Helper I
Helper I

Return records that match a list of specific string keywords

Hi all, I'm new to Power BI and I've run into an issue. I want to calcuate a total based on 2 filters:

1) where Type is "Project"

OR

2) where Product Name matches at least one key word in a specified list

I'm especially having trouble calculating from the list of specific words - the record just has to contain that word, it doesn't have to be exact. I'm not sure what the right function to use would be - Find, Search, Contains, something else? Is there something that would allow me to say something like "return the record if the Product Name contains any of the following words ("Visit", "Fee") ? I might need to add more words to that list, so it would be great if there would be a way to just provide a list of possible words to search for.

Here's my code so far - I'd really appreciate any help with what I'm doing wrong. The "OR" is also tripping me up.

Total = SUM ( data[price],

FILTER ( data, data[Type] = "Project" ||

FIND ( "Visit", data[ProductName] ) ||

FIND ( "Fee", data[ProductName] )

) )

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Chihiro
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

You should use CALCULATE(SUM(),FILTER()) construct.

You should also specify Not Found Value argument for FIND.

Something like...

Total =
CALCULATE (
    SUM ( data[price] ),
    FILTER (
        data,
        data[Type] = "Project"
            || FIND ( "Visit", data[ProductName],, 0 ) <> 0
            || FIND ( "Fee", data[ProductName],, 0 ) <> 0
    )
)

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Chihiro
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

You should use CALCULATE(SUM(),FILTER()) construct.

You should also specify Not Found Value argument for FIND.

Something like...

Total =
CALCULATE (
    SUM ( data[price] ),
    FILTER (
        data,