Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Return Different Column Value in Same Row Context after CALCULATE

Hi all,

I hope everyone is doing well. I am new to PowerBI and am currently working with Salesforce data to analyze historical opportunity changes. The data I am currently working on looks something like this:

OpportunityIDStageNameCreatedDateIndexNextStageCreatedDate
1234Stage 19/1/2021 8:43:24 AM19/3/2021 10:32:89 AM
1234Stage 29/3/2021 10:32:89 AM2 
1236Stage 512/1/2021 2:45:12 PM3 
1237Stage 78/31/2020 12:12:56 PM49/5/2020 11:28:41: AM
1237Stage 69/5/2020 11:28:41 AM59/13/2020 9:41:48 AM
1237Stage 89/13/2020 9:41:48 AM6 

This data is a hisotry of changes made to the opportunity. At first, I only had the first three colums (Opportunity ID, StageName, CreatedDate). Looking for a way to measure the time between different entries, I stumbled upon this post from 2017 of someone who was trying to do the same thing as me. Following the solution to this post worked perfectly, and is what gave me both the Index and NextStageCreatedDate. Here is the solution that was provided:

1. Open query editor. Sorted by "OpportunityId";
2. Open ADVANCED EDITOR (Sign 2), then add ", {"CreatedDate", Order.Ascending}" (sign 3).
3. Click DONE, you will see two sorted arrows (in yellow square).This is what we want.
4. Add index.
5. Add a calculated column with this formula.

NextStageCreatedDate =
VAR CurrentIndex = 'Opportunity History'[Indexnew]
RETURN
    CALCULATE (
        MIN ( 'Opportunity History'[CreatedDate] ),
        ALLEXCEPT ( 'Opportunity History', 'Opportunity History'[OpportunityId] ),
        'Opportunity History'[Indexnew]
            = currentindex + 1
    )