Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Terp
Advocate III
Advocate III

Return Corresponding Date of 'Max Value' (like Match/Offset in Excel)?

Being a total rookie, I am unsure if there is a setting/toggle I can flick to get at this, but I am trying to display a 'card' with the max value AND the date of that value. Getting the MAX value is easy, of course, but can't figure out how to get the date of that value...assuming I would use two cards and overlay them to achieve the style I am going for, but just not sure of the DAX necessary to get the date.

In Excel, I would use MATCH/OFFSET or vlookups to find the max value, offset to get the corresponding date header, and use that value.  In PowerBI, I am clueless.

Example:

trade.jpg

So I have a card that shows the max value of the 'Total U.S. Exports' column; for the timeperiod in the screenshot, it would display "$86,192".  I would then like to show the date of this 'record-setting/highest' value.

Is there an inherent measure that gets at this, or do I need to seek a little DAX to do this? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
jdbuchanan71
Super User
Super User

@Terp 

Try it with something like this measure.

Top Period = 
FIRSTNONBLANK(TOPN(1,VALUES('Table'[Period]),CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Total US Exports]))),1)

jdbuchanan71_0-1623515814944.png

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Terp
Advocate III
Advocate III

If I could ask a follow-up, as the FIRSTNONBLANK usage just hit me; this works ONLY because I have the date/period in the first column, correct? If the period were in the middle of all the other columns, this approach wouldn't work?

(I'll play with that now, but thought I would ask in hopes of better understanding some of these functions while I wait for a book on DAX to arrive). 🙂

Thanks again.