Super User
Super User

Re: Retain file name column when using Folder as a data source - Power Query M

Hi @sljean17,

please post sample data of:

1) The source (step "Changed Type") and

2) Your desired result

Thanks.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Datanaut!

Imke Feldmann

How to integrate M-code into your solution -- Check out more PBI- learning resources here -- Performance Tipps for M-queries

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey Imke! 

Thanks for all the support. 

I have a slighly different problem and since I'm new to M I don't know how to proceed. 

In my case, I need to keep the creation date of the document, as I may benefit from it for some calculations.

How can I transform the creation date into a new column in Power Querry?

Thanks

Super User
Super User

The column should be/stay there, if you don't use Combine Binaries but use the method I've described and add a column to retrieve the data from the "Content"-column.

Proud to be a Datanaut!

Imke Feldmann

How to integrate M-code into your solution -- Check out more PBI- learning resources here -- Performance Tipps for M-queries

Highlighted
RachelEKatz95 Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

Hi @ImkeF,

I am doing something a little bit different and was wondering if you could help guide me in my use case. I have a SharePoint folder where different CSVs will be uploaded with different headers. Each csv will have at least one of the common merge headers, so there will always be "Key1", "Key2", or "Key3" as one of the headers - the rest might have extra data. I am trying to modify my power query to handle these cases, so that if the file only has "Key2" - just that column will be read in and the rest ignored. Or if it just has "Key1" and "Key2" - those will be read and the rest ignored.. etc