Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

woutertom
Regular Visitor

Resolving ambiguity issue

Hi there,

I am fairly new to the BI environment and I am looking to do the following (this is a simplification of the model): 

TABLE A (factbased):

Product category | sales value 

TABLE B (factbased): 

Page category | sessions 

TABLE C (Lookup table): 

product category (UID)

TABLE D (Lookup table): 

Page category (UID)) | product category 

Now here comes the tricky part. In table C, there's 2 different product categories (product A, product B). In table D, these two products are taken together (Product A & Product B). Ideally, one should of course split that column in table D, making one for Product A and one for Product B. This however, is not possible at the moment, and the aim is not to change this. The aim the following display situation: 

- display of sales value (from table A)

- display of sessions (from table B) 

- sliced up per product category (from table C)

We want the following to happen, if someone sliced the data on product A, the 'sales value' for product A is shown. If someone slices the data for product B, the 'sales value for product B is shown. For sessions, we would like to see the following: When sliced on product A, the sessions for product A & product B are shown. When sliced for product B, the sessions for product A & B are shown. 

Is there someone who could help me out on this matter. Initially, my idea was to create another lookuptable between C & D, table E, that has the following: 

TABLE E: 

Product A & B 

Not product A & B

And then add these labels to the C & D tables. But... an 'ambiguity error' occurred. Is there any way to work around this in a more efficient way, or can we maybe create a solution using DAX to work around this?