Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Jay_JAM
Frequent Visitor

Requirement to embed a dynamic report on a website

I am new to Power BI and wanted to confirm if Power BI can support the requirement I have.

I need to extract data from mySQL for the creation of the report. Have therefore installed the desktop version of Power BI.

I then need to create reports that are to be embedded in our website that users will access using their supplied User ID and password.

Additionally, the same report needs to be displayed for different users based on the institution from where they are logging on. So if they log on from University X then they need to be displayed data for University X. The report is the same but the data is different. Do I need to create different reports for all the institutions separately or can this be dynamic and I just create one report?

Also, can Power BI reports support filtering by time? So if I want can I see data for a month/year etc. 

3 REPLIES 3
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @Jay_JAM

Per your requirements, my answers list below:

1. the same report needs to be displayed for different users based on the institution from where they are logging on. So if they log on from University X then they need to be displayed data for University X. The report is the same but the data is different.

-> you don't need to create reports many times.

Add another email address column for the instructors in your table, then use USERNAME() function to implement dynamic row level security as described in the following similar blog.
http://radacad.com/dynamic-row-level-security-with-power-bi-made-simple

2.I then need to create reports that are to be embedded in our website that users will access using their supplied User ID and password.