Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Replace values between square brackets in a Query

Hi, PowerBI newbie here but loving it!

In my Query I have a column where the values may have text in square brackets 

eg: This is some text [and this is other text]

I would like to remove the text between the square brackets.  This could be any text, so it needs to be dynamic

Any thoughts?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ElenaN
Resolver V
Resolver V

Hello,

If you just want to replace the value in the brackets you can create a new column (Add Custom Column option in Power Query) and use this code:

=Text.Replace([Column1], Text.BeforeDelimiter(Text.AfterDelimiter([Column1], "["), "]"), "")

The code replaces whatever it is found between brackets with empty string. You can change that according to your needs.

Regards,

ElenaN

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
OB
Helper II
Helper II

Hi @ElenaN and @HotChilli,

How can this solution be adjusted to make multiple replacements in one text string? 

My example simplified to make it as close to the above solution as possible:  each time I have text in brackets (text in brackets will vary), I want to replace with space,

e.g. ABC [text1], EFG [text2], XYZ [text3] > ABC[ ], EFG[ ], XYZ [ ]

Thank you!

ElenaN
Resolver V
Resolver V

Hello,

If you just want to replace the value in the brackets you can create a new column (Add Custom Column option in Power Query) and use this code:

=Text.Replace([Column1], Text.BeforeDelimiter(Text.AfterDelimiter([Column1], "["), "]"), "")

The code replaces whatever it is found between brackets with empty string. You can change that according to your needs.

Regards,

ElenaN

Anonymous
Not applicable