Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

veronica_zappp
Frequent Visitor

Replace value in one column based on text in another column , same row

I'm an M language beginner, and don't quite follow how to replace values. I've seen other suggestions in the community for similar issues but not quite what I need.

Here is the scenario, I have a series of data with Country, ODACountryISO3, _ISO3. As you can see in red, I am missing values for the middle column. I am also missing values in the _ISO3 column. I need to manually clean this up such that I only use the ODACountryISO3 information for my map. 

veronica_zappp_0-1669823929677.png

I need to tell Power Query where it sees a null in ODACountryISO3, look for a specific country name, and replace the null with a specific code. So, if null in ODACountryISO3 AND Country(receiving) is China, replace the null with CHN. I need to do this for about 20 scenarios.

What is the best way to go about this? I prefer doing this in PowerQuery rather than in the raw data for a number of reasons.

Thank you to this community for all the help!

2 REPLIES 2
HotChilli
Super User
Super User

A few different ways to do this sort of thing.

Most solutions in Power Query add columns and then remove columns rather than in-place replacement so you could add a custom column and hardcode all the cases: (as in your example)

if null in ODACountryISO3 AND Country(receiving) is China, replace the null with CHN else

if ....

or merge with a table which holds all the correct codes

or look up the values in the master table, possibly using Table.SelectRows