Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Replace a Long Text Key Field with an Integer

Hi

I'm new to power bi, and I have previous experience with Qlikview.

In Qlikview, there is a function called Autonumber. Basically, what is do is to replace a long key with a number, reducing the amount of memory required to store a long key.

So I think it could be replicated in PowerBi doing something like this:

a) Reference all the tables that has the LongTextKey. (Table1 and Table2)

b) Remove all the other fields that are not the LongTextKey in the referenced tables (Table1Ref and Table2Ref)

c) Append all this tables into one new table: NewKeyTable 

d) Remove duplicated rows in the NewKeyTable

e) Add an index (IndexKey) to this new table NewKeyTable.

f) In Table1 and Table2, do a merge with the LongTextKey

g) In Table1 and Table2, expand the merged table, but only the created field IndexKey in step e).

h) In Table1 and Table2, drop the LongTextKey

k) In the model, use the new indexKey instead of the droped LongTextKey

h) Disable load for all the created tables

Is this feasible in PowerBi, does it makes sense?

If it is feasible, I think this should be implemented in PowerBi as a Easy and Quick option, as it is in Qlikview

Also, if feasible this concepts allows to hide sensitive keys to the final user. It is also specially useful when the fact table or some big table don't have a key and it must be constructed based on many others fields (sometimes 8+ text fields)

I've done a test with about 100.000 records, and this are the results of the size of fields, that I've got from DaxStudio:

TableFieldTypeSize (kb)
NewKeyTableLongTextKeyDBTYPE_WSTR1026,943359375
NewKeyTableIndexKeyDBTYPE_R80,1171875

Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
ImkeF
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous ,