Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

jracer007
Helper IV
Helper IV

Replace Text with other text

Hello community,

I want to request your help to replace the text of a Custom Column with the text of other column.

Original Text:
replace_1.PNG

Desired text:
replace_2.PNG

Thank and happy year!!

14 REPLIES 14
v-chuncz-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@jracer007,

You may try Power Query M function Text.Replace and Text.ReplaceRange, and DAX Function REPLACE Function and SUBSTITUTE Function.

Community Support Team _ Sam Zha
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Could you help me with the formula please? I am new at this.

@jracer007,

Share us a more complete example, please.

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

I'll explain it to you in more detail, My data source comes from Google Analytics:

replacetext_1.PNG

Then I create a Custom Column to extract the data I need with a lookupvalue:
replacetext_2.PNG

This is the data source that contains the search column:
replacetext_3.PNG

And the visualization (matrix) is this:
replace_1.PNG

Now, what I need is for all that text to be replaced by this:

replacetext_4.PNG

Note: This text is in the same table as the replacetext_3 image.

@jracer007,

The first parameter <result_columnName> of LOOKUPVALUE Function needs to be the name of an existing column that contains the value you want to return.

I do not understand.

Stachu
Community Champion
Community Champion