Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

EmmaLynch
Frequent Visitor

Reordering legend in my Pie Chart

Hi,

I am very new to powerbi and trying to teach myself, but am unable to do the easiest of things it would seem.   😞   

Basically I just want to reorder my legend to show AA, A, B, C, and D.  

EmmaLynch_0-1598530338614.png

Any help received gratefully. (In layman terms please as Im not technical at all)

Thanks in advance .

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Nimai123
Post Patron
Post Patron

Hi @EmmaLynch 

As Power BI doesn't know the order of the legend which is required in your case, to make it display the desired output we have to use the feature called Sort by Column.

Capture.PNG

So to use it you need to create a table where your Contract class hierarchy resides as follows

Capture1.PNG

Before sorting

Capture 2.PNG

After Sorting

Capture 4.PNG

To understand the model I have attached the sample file, you can download and apply in the main file

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1qpGEP3n954dyFkiIte8kGmjY8wGwt9yI?usp=sharing

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Nimai123
Post Patron
Post Patron

Hi @EmmaLynch 

As Power BI doesn't know the order of the legend which is required in your case, to make it display the desired output we have to use the feature called Sort by Column.

Capture.PNG

So to use it you need to create a table where your Contract class hierarchy resides as follows

Capture1.PNG

Before sorting

Capture 2.PNG

After Sorting

Capture 4.PNG

To understand the model I have attached the sample file, you can download and apply in the main file

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1qpGEP3n954dyFkiIte8kGmjY8wGwt9yI?usp=sharing

Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@EmmaLynch - Use the ellipses (...) on the visual and choose Sort by and then Contract class

Greg_Deckler_0-1598530915865.png