Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

victoire0
Regular Visitor

Renaming colomns

Hi everyone, 

Do you know how I can do the following ? : I would like to rename specific columns by keeping only the 2 digits left and adding a "W" in front (I'm working on weeks so 012020 will be W01).

I guess I need to do it in the advanced editor, unfortunately I'm a beginner in the M language.... 

Could you please help me 🙂 ?

Thanks in advance !

Victoire

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@victoire0 - here you go. This is a bit shorter. It is 100% manual coding though vs my previous example which was 100% UI driven.

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WSlTSAeMkIFaKjQUA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [#"012020" = _t, #"022020" = _t, #"032020" = _t, #"Other Column" = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"012020", type text}, {"022020", type text}, {"032020", type text}}),
    OriginalName = 
        List.Select(
            Table.ColumnNames( #"Changed Type"), 
            each Text.End(_,4)="2020"
            ),
    NewName = 
        List.Transform(
            OriginalName, each "W" & Text.Start(_,2) 
            ),
    #"Dynamic Rename" = 
        Table.RenameColumns(
            #"Changed Type", 
            List.Zip({OriginalName, NewName})
            )
in
    #"Dynamic Rename"

Here is is by step:

• Source and #Changed Type are just me keying in the same table as above example
  • OriginalName generates a list of the column names that ends in 2020. You would need to change the List.Select here to fit your needs. My code will break in 2021. You could use something like this:
    • Text.Start(Text.End(_,4),3) = "202"