Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Removing middle name from a name field column with comma delimiter

I am a newbie to Power BI and trying to work out a solution for a scenario where I have got a column with name displayed in the format Lastname, first name, middle name. I need the first name concatenated with the last name with space in between. I tried a couple of options in string extraction but couldn't find anything that handles the scenario. Anyone got any suggestions.

Thanks

Sample Data -
Bray, John L
Ashmore, Gavin L

Required Output
- John Bray
- Gavin Ashmore

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
jdbuchanan71
Super User
Super User

If you open the query under Home > Edit Queries you can add some additional steps.

1. Replace , with nothing

2. Split the column by delimiter (space)

3. Add a column that combines First Name & " " & Last Name

4. Delete the old name fields

NameFix.jpg

Here is the code from the Advanced Editor

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WcipKrNRR8MrPyFPwUYrViVZyLM7IzS9K1VFwTyzLBAvGAgA=", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Column1 = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Column1", type text}}),
    #"Replaced Value" = Table.ReplaceValue(#"Changed Type",",","",Replacer.ReplaceText,{"Column1"}),
    #"Split Column by Delimiter" = Table.SplitColumn(#"Replaced Value", "Column1", Splitter.SplitTextByDelimiter(" ", QuoteStyle.Csv), {"Column1.1", "Column1.2", "Column1.3"}),
    #"Changed Type1" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Split Column by Delimiter",{{"Column1.1", type text}, {"Column1.2", type text}, {"Column1.3", type text}}),