Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Relative (Dynamic) Date Filter - Compare last x months but for 2 years

Hi,

I am quite new to this community, and I am still learning - in advance, sorry if this is posted in the wrong place. We have a full BI team setting up our data and connections, and as such I do not have access to tables and data models. I am trying to ensure this line chart always only show the last 3 months of this year - BUT also the same 3 months from last year:

last - and same 3 months over 2 years.PNG

(1) Info on my visual: I have a line chart (see above), that shows the last 3 months (adoption rate for an app of mine) - for 2 different years (2018 and 2019). For this, I have 2 filters on the visual:

• Filter 1: Year is = 2018 or 2019
  • Filter 2: Month is = September, October, November

(2) My issue - manually updating months: When we reach december, I have to manually deselect september in my filter for months - and instead select december, so that the visual shows me the last 3 months for 2019 (and the same months for 2018). I would like to avoid this manual work at the beginning of each month.

(3) The question about dynamic date filter over different years

Is there any way to have a sort of dynamic relative date filtering? I am thinking a filter that would go something along the lines of;

• Filter: Show data from last 3 months this year AND also the same 3 months from last year

Again, I do not have access to the actual data tables and modelling - so is it even possible for me to create a filter such as this, or a measure that includes this data and updates each time the month changes? In advance, thanks for your help (I am trying to learn, be

2 REPLIES 2

Hi,

You can use

SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR and PARALLELPERIOD