Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

fletch8527

Relative Date X Days Before

I'm very new to Power BI, so please be kind. I searched the board first but didnt find a similar post. Im playing around with a very basic report that gets data from our Active Directory. One column is a date the other is the user's display name. Is there a way to use the Relative Date filter/slicer to show only records that are older than X number of days from today? I can get a list of records from the last X days, but I am more concerned with records that older than lets say 30 days.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I'm guessing that you have Date column in Datetime format. In "M", it is important to match data type for both left and right of the operator.

Then change it to...

= Table.SelectRows(#"Changed Type", each [Date] < Date.AddDays(DateTime.LocalNow(),-30))

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Chihiro
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

I'd do this in query editor.

Once data is brought in, apply 'date is before' filter using any date.

Then in advanced query editor, find the Filtered row step just applied.

It will look like...

#"Filtered Rows" = Table.SelectRows(#"Changed Type", each [Date] < #date(2018, 10, 1))

Now replace #date() part with dynamic calculation.

Something like....

#"Filtered Rows" = Table.SelectRows(#"Changed Type", each [Date] < Date.AddDays(DateTime.Date(DateTime.LocalNow()),-30))

Edit: You can parameterize -30 part if desired.

I tried your suggestion and got this error

Expression.Error: We cannot apply operator < to types Date and DateTime.

I'm guessing that you have Date column in Datetime format. In "M", it is important to match data type for both left and right of the operator.

Then change it to...

= Table.SelectRows(#"Changed Type", each [Date] < Date.AddDays(DateTime.LocalNow(),-30))