Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

VictorW
Frequent Visitor

Relationships between two tables - date slicer not working

Hi all,

I am trying to link data from two tables so that the date slicer will work with both. I am new to Power BI and tried a few solutions on the forums, but have not been able to resolve the issue. Here are my tables and some of the relevant columns:

• In Table 1 (Lagging Indicator Export), each row is a summary of stats for a project site broken down by month. The date in each row is the first of the month (e.g. 6/1/2019).
  • In Table 2 (Incident Master), each row is an individual incident record. I changed the Date format in Edit Queries to match the date in the first table (e.g. it will show up as 6/1/2019 instead of the actual incident date 6/11/2019).
  • The important related columns in each table are Division, Branch, Project, and Date, but are named differently in each table. I created a Project Filter Data table to connect the Project columns.

I created a measure in my report to count the number of rows Table 2 with certain filters and used USERELATIONSHIP to activate the relationship between the DateTable and Table 2. However, the data shows up as Blank in the report. I played around with the relationships and got some numbers to show up, but when I use the date slicer or try to create a table visual with data from both Tables, it does not work properly.  Here is how the relationships are set up:

image.png

Any help is appreciated!

Thank you.

3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Well, this is a classic of circular dependencies.