Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

RBlake

Refreshing Power BI desktop files

Hello,

I'm really new to Power BI and am having trouble finding information on data refresh - there's lots of information out there but I'm struggling to find what's current.

What I want to achieve is an automtic refresh of the data in my report that sits in the powerbi.com service.

Here's what I've done:

• I have an Excel based datasource that is stored in a OneDrive for Business library.
  • I am using the Power BI Desktop to create the report.
  • I have saved my PBIX file to the same OneDrive for Business library as the data.
  • When connecting to the Excel data source in the Power BI Desktop I have chosen Get Data > Web then supplied the URL to the Excel file (removing the ?web=1 reference).
  • Inside the PBIX file I can refresh the data and it works.

To get the data into PowerBI.com I have tried 2 approaches, neither of which worked as i would have expected:

1. Published the report using the Publish option in the Power BI Desktop. I then scheduled a refresh which ran but did not update anything (neither report layout nor changes in the data).
  2. Logged into the Power BI service and used Get Data to upload my PBIX file. I was able to use OneDrive Refresh for this. This method refreshed the report layout but not the changes to the data.

I'm assuming I must be doing something wrong so the question is this: Can I create a report using the Power BI Desktop (that is based on an Excel file stored in OneDrive for Business) and have any changes to the Excel file automatically refreshed in the Power BI Service??

Thanks in advance,

Rich

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION