Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

CMMkamil
Frequent Visitor

Refresh failed error

Hello all,

I'm a noob to Power Bi and can't seem to fix an issue with refreshing my dataset. 

I have uploaded an excel file stored on Sharepoint, created the reports and then published to Power Bi. I have then set up a scheduled refresh however, this morning I receive an email with the below message;

"

Excel Workbook: The 'Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0' provider is not registered on the local machine. The 64-bit version of the Access Database Engine 2010 Access Database Engine OLEDB provider may be required to read this type of file. To download the client software, visit the following site: https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=285987.. The exception was raised by the IDataReader interface. Table: Query1."

I have followed the steps in the link above and have downloaded the Access database thing and also made sure that my office apps and Power Bi are all 64-bit. I then tried a manual refresh and got the same error. 

Any idea why this is happening?

Many thanks in advance. 

5 REPLIES 5
Icey
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @CMMkamil ,

If you are a pro user, not trial, I suggest you to create a support ticket to get further help.

Support Ticket.gif

Best Regards,

Icey

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Icey
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @CMMkamil ,

Is your Excel file saved as .xls? Please save it to .xlsx and try it again.

You can refer to this document: How to convert XLS files to XLSX so that they can be used in #PowerBI

Best Regards,

Icey

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

CMMkamil
Frequent Visitor

Hi @Icey