Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

fodelement
Frequent Visitor

Reduce by percent if column value equals something.

Hello all,

I am new to Power BI, and thanks to the helpful posts on here, I managed to catch up pretty quickly, so thanks for that!

One issue I cannot find an answer to is as follows. I have an internal SharePoint site, that has filable form. 

image.png

Once the user enters in the money collected. sharepoint adds up the total and puts in into a calculated colmun called "Total".

The field that says "Took on behalf of" is a personal look up.

What I am looking for, is a measure in Power BI, that if the coumn "Took on Behalf of" = someone's name (because it can be blank) take 80% off of this entries total, and add it to another coulmn.

If I explain why we do this, maybe it will help you understand what I am trying to accomplish. 

Each time a user takes a payment, they record it in sharepoint using this form. If the user is taken a payment for a client that belongs to another user, they get 20% of it, and the user who the client belongs to gets 80% of it. 

Using this measure, I managed to get 80% of the total cash. So I assume some kind of if statement will be involved, as well as a colmn for storing data to be added to each person's total.

image.png

Thanks in advance! 

William 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @fodelement,

Please create a new table by clicking New table under Modeling on Home page. Then type the formula to create a new table

NewTable=UNION(SELECTCOLUMNS(Table,"Name",Table[CreatedBy],"Value",table[Total]),SELECTCOLUMNS(FILTER(Table, Table[Index]=CALCULATE(MIN(Table[Index]),ALLEXCEPT(Table,Table[Took on Behalf of]))),"Name",Table[Took on Behalf of],"Value",Table[OtherPersonGets]))

Then add the Name as Axis, the sum(value) as value fields.

Best Regards,