Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

seanwu
Regular Visitor

Ranking the Order Date

Hi,

I am still learning DAX. But I am running into a problem.

I have a "Sales" table that lists all the sales by "CustomerKey", "OrderDate" and "OrderAmount" and a bunch of other columns that are not the focus of my concern for this purpose.  In this "Sales" Table, one "CustomerKey" can have mulitiple "OrderDate"s. One "CustomerKey" can have mulitple orders on the same day too. 

I want to create a table (named "CleanTable") by using SUMMARIZECOLUMNS as follows:

CleanTable=SUMMARIZECOLUMNS(Sales[CustomerKey],Sales[OrderDate])

The purpose of this "CleanTable" is to get rid of those "other columns" that are not the focus of my concern and also Summarize the "Sales" table by CustomerKey and OrderDate.

CleanTable is created with no glitch. Now I want to add a column (Let's call it "OrderDateRank")to the CleanTable to rank the OrderDate column WITHIN each CustomerKey.  For example, if CustomerKey 1 in the CleanTable has three OrderDate (7/15/2018, 7/16/2018, 7/17/2018), then this "OrderDateRank" will have value 1 to 7/15/2018, 2 to 7/16/2018 and 3 to 7/17/2018).

How can I do that? The key is that it has to be within each CustomerKey, NOT All across all the OrderDate.

Thanks a lot.

2 REPLIES 2
v-piga-msft
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi @seanwu ,

I have still a little confused about your scenario.

If it is convenient, could you share the data sample with table format and your desired output so that we could help further on it?

Please refer to this blog about how to get your question answered quickly.

Best Regards,

Cherry

Community Support Team _ Cherry Gao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hi v-piga-msft,