Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

DrBrentRD
Frequent Visitor

Rank of Total Sales within a group and with slicers

I'm new to DAX and PowerBI, but well versed in Excel and VBA. I've spend several days looking for a solution to my issue and haven't had any success.

I have a number of tables within the data model. The 'Sales' table (see below) has the sales by product for each month. The 'Products' table holds various other details including the country where each product is sold. Each product has a base number (links all the international varieties of a given product). The report allows slicing by the base number, sales dates, and underlying blend (recipe). 

I'm trying to create a table visual (see snipet below) that shows a number of sales details including where each variant (aka international version) ranks within its respective country (e.g. Variant A is the #5 best seller for US, Variant B is the #8 best seller for India, etc.). The following DAX gets me a summary of total sales for all of the products in a given country, but I can't figure out how to rank these values and then pull out the one rank I need for each row in the visual.

SUMMARIZECOLUMNS(tblProducts[ProdID],FILTER(tblSalesUnits,AND(tblSalesUnits[UnitMonth]>=DATEVALUE("Mar-2017") && tblSalesUnits[UnitMonth]<=DATEVALUE("Jun-2018"),RELATED(tblProducts[Country])="US")),"TotalSales",SUM(tblSalesUnits[Units]))

I've hardcoded the dates and country into the above for testing purposes, but the final code will need to pull these values from each row in the visual and the three slicers.

BI.jpg

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Brent

2 REPLIES 2
v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @DrBrentRD,