Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

spv
Frequent Visitor

RLS with multiple roles - Slicers not affected

Hi everyone,

I am kind of new to RLS but I have read a lot about it.

I am working on a report and want to limit the values that a user can see. The user should see only data for themselves or data for employees reporting to them. This is the dynamic RLS with Organizational Hierrarchy, which I have implemented successfully.

However, I want ot add one more role where I will manually give access for specific users to see data for specific Business Units. For this, I have created an excel file which I input in the Power BI report. Below the format with dummy data can be seen:

EmployeeEmailRegionSubregion Business UnitKey
Aa@mail.com11A11
Aa@mail.com12B12
Aa@mail.com21C13
Bb@mail.com11A11

I created a Buffer Table where I implement the new Role with definition:

'BufferTable'[Key] = LOOKUPVALUE('SecurityTable'[Key], 'SecurityTable'[Email], USERPRINCIPALNAME(), 'SecurityTable'[Key], 'BufferTable'[Key])

After that I connected the Buffer Table with my Business Unit Table with a Single directional relationship.

With the two above roles, the user can only see either the data about themselves and the employees below them or the data I have given them access manually. However. the slicers using columns from the Business Unit Table are not affected and the user can see every option. How could I fix that?

4 REPLIES 4
v-yingjl
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @spv ,

Not certain what is your expeceted output. If you want to get specific user data, just define the role like:

[Email] = USERPRINCIPALNAME()

When you view as a@mail.com, the slicer will also be filtered.

RLS1.pngRLS2.png

How did you create a buffer table and what did the key field represent..