Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

RLS for different levels and different categories

Hello All,

I have a table where few of the employees are given at such different level.

Screen Shot 2019-04-10 at 4.09.55 PM.png

--> A employee have an access of SBU1,SBU2,SBU3 for all PRACTICES of only USA, UK region.

--> B employee have an access of SBU1 for Practice1 of only INDIAN region.

--> C employee have an access of all the sbu's for all PRACTICES of only CANADA region.

And i have a table of masterdata, where it contains the SBU, PRACTICE, REGION as columns along with EmpID,userName.

EmpName  SBU   Practice     Region          Salery

eSBU1Practice1INDIA100
fSBU1Practice1USA200
gSBU2Practice2UK300
hSBU2Practice3CANADA400
iSBU3Practice4INDIA500
jSBU3Practice4USA600

Now whenever a1 logs into our powerbi report, he able to see data for SBU1,SBU2,SBU3 for all PRACTICES of only USA, UK region.

Like wise we have to show the data for rest of the employee.

Is it possible in powerbi.

Any help or suggestions will be much apprciated.

Regards,

Mohan V

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous - OK, I see the requirement more clearly now.

You need to modify the User Access table so that it has a row for each combination that the user can access.

In Power Query:

1. Create a new table with the distinct list of each of your values (SBU, practice, Region) and add another column with the value ALL in every row. 

Now, do the following steps for each column (SBU, Practice and Region):

2. Split by delimiter. This will create separate columns for each of the values in your original column. Use advanced options to ensure that it will split into plenty of columns - Enough to hold the maximum number of values.

3. Select all columns except the new columns.