Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The ultimate Microsoft Fabric, Power BI, Azure AI & SQL learning event! Join us in Las Vegas from March 26-28, 2024. Use code MSCUST for a $100 discount. Register Now

Anonymous
Not applicable

R Script returning empty table

Hi !

I am a beginner in R and I'm trying to use it in Query Editor to combine multiple text files, but the output is a empty table. I tried the code in R Studio and a get a positive result. I checked the class and the output is a data frame. I do not know what I am doing wrong.

Any help is appreciated.

I used the code bellow with a loop to read all the files in a folder and put them in a data frame. I know there is many other ways to do that in R, but I choose this example because it looks like something I would do in VBA.

Code using Loop

library(readr)
library(stringr)

Path<- setwd("C:/Users/mrX/Desktop/Temp")

files <- list.files(
                        path = Path
                        , pattern = "(.*)csv$"
                        , ignore.case = TRUE
                        )
master_data<- data.frame()

counter = 0

for (file in files){

file_data<-read.csv2(file)

if (counter==0){
    master_data<-file_data
  } else {
    master_data<-rbind(master_data, file_data)
  }
  counter = counter+1

}

master_data

File 1

Name Value
  a     1
  b     2
c 3

File 2

Name Value
    d     4
    e     5
    f     6

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous,

Ok, got it, could you please mark the useful/helpful reply as answer? So more people will benefit from here. I really appreciate it.

Best Regards,
Angelia

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Phil_Seamark
Employee
Employee

Hi @Anonymous

You can combine multiple files without using R but just choosing the Folder option as a data source.

combine files.png

To learn more about DAX visit : aka.ms/practicalDAX

Proud to be a Datanaut!

Anonymous
Not applicable