Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Question: Date Table Required for Date/Time functions...?

I am very new to power BI and am confused about date/time functions.  None of them seem to work (it is early Dec 2015 and I have the most recent version of power bi Desktop).  After researching older threads, it seems:

1).  that a standalone 'Master' Date table needs to be created and imported into power BI Desktop before any of these functions work..is this still correct? 

2).  If so, do you then have to join every other table with a date to this 'Master' Date table? 

3).  This 'Master' Date table would then be used in all date/time formulas for all tables?

4).  Would this 'Master' Date table need to have a start date as far back as any date in any of your other tables?  It would also have to have an end date equal to or beyond any date in any of your other tables, correct?  (so at a minimum, the end date would need to be 2015-12-10 at the time of this writing.  Should I just use an extreme date range to avoid maintenance of this date table (ex.  used 1990-01-01 as startdate and 2018-12-31 as enddate)?

BTW - I am using this formula to generate what I am calling the 'Master' Date table

http://www.mattmasson.com/2014/02/creating-a-date-dimension-with-a-power-query-script/

1.)  I am also getting an error when i try to add a day as Ken Puls suggested in the comments - how do I do this?

Thanks in advance...

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
bherring1979
Frequent Visitor

You're probably better off using something online like Azure Marketplace calendars. They update for you so you don't have to keep up with it.