Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ziv-mireia
Regular Visitor

Query Editor: How to move a cell value to a separate cell the easiest way?

I am new to Power BI so please help me.

I want to move a single value from [KP20 rate] column to [Column2] column in the query editor, how can I achieve it in the simplest way?

How To Move A Cell Value.PNGExpression Error.PNG

I know I might need to declare a variable so please enlighten me. By the way, I will delete row 1 afterwards, promote my headers, and rename Column2 as YTD PERIOD.

Thank you,

7 REPLIES 7
ConcreteMule
Frequent Visitor

Basically, you need to extract the content then insert it as a string in the ReplaceValue function.

See below.

let
Source = ...your source data.
#"Kept First Rows" = Table.FirstN(Source,1),
#"Removed Other Columns" = Table.SelectColumns(#"Kept First Rows",{"KP20 rate"}),
string_YTD = Text.From(#"Removed Other Columns"{0}[KP20 rate]),
Source2 = ...your source data
#"Replaced Value" = Table.ReplaceValue(Source2,"Total Hair Care", string_YTD, Replacer.ReplaceText,{"Column2"}),
#"Removed Top Rows" = Table.Skip(#"Replaced Value",1),
#"Promoted Headers" = Table.PromoteHeaders(#"Removed Top Rows", [PromoteAllScalars=true]),
#"Renamed Columns" = Table.RenameColumns(#"Promoted Headers",{{"null", "YTD PERIOD"}})
in
#"Renamed Columns"

You can also do the dynamic string for the "Total Hair Care" also by using the same method for getting string_YTD.

Hope this helps!

ConcreteMule
Frequent Visitor

Basically you need to extract the content then insert into the ReplaceValue function

let
// These steps get the data needed to fullfill the replace.