Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Jeo_Thomas
Frequent Visitor

QTD, Last Year Same QTR, YTD, YTD Last Year

Greetings,

I'm new to Power BI and dax, so please forgive me if my inquiry makes no sense.

In my company, I'm attempting to create a quarterly report. The source data contains some information that should be ignored when constructing the report because it is from an unfinished quarter. I can't delete it as it forms the source of other reports too.

After some research I was able to create a measure to calculate QTD thanks to @amitchandak by using the below DAX

QTD-Submission Count = CALCULATE([Submission count],DATESQTD( ENDOFQUARTER(dateadd('1.Date_First Receipt Date'[Date],-1,QUARTER)))) "

But I am unable to find a solution to calculate

1. YTD - that only includes the quarter that is complete and ignores the incomplete quarter.

2. Last Year same Quarter  - Which shows the QTD data for last year which the same time frame of the current complete quarter.

3. YTD Last Year - YTD data for the last year which which the same time frame of this years completed quarter.

Any help would be highly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
TomMartens
Super User
Super User

Hey @Jeo_Thomas ,

welcome to Power BI 🙂

I think it's a good idea reading this article: https://www.daxpatterns.com/time-patterns/ this article provides solutions for almost everything that relates to time.

It explains why it is important to use a dedicated Calendar table, as this almost mandatory for any data model.

Then you can create a new column in this Calendar table like "completed" and mark all days that are inside a Completed Quarter with "Yes" and all the other days with "No".

Then you can add something like this

CALCULATE(
    <Time Intelligence Function>
    , 'Calendar'[Completed Quarter] = "Yes"
)