Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

noahiz917
Frequent Visitor

Putting 2 groups of data (from the same column source) on the same chart

Hello,

I am quite new to PowerBI, so any help with this would be greatly appreciated!

I'm trying to display 2 snippets/subsets of data within the same chart, using 2 separate date slicers to select each date's corresponding data (see highlighted slicers.) Ideally, the chart I create should look like the third screenshot attached, except the colors would designate the 2 different dates I choose from the slicers

The data itself is a distribution of sales records that fall into different bins (across the bottom) and each bar's height is a COUNT of those records.

I've created a copy/separate Date table with a 1-to-1 join relationship with the original Date table, in hopes that changing one wouldn't change the other. Unfortunately, the slicers are still somehow correlated and the only option on the second slicer after selecting a date on the first slicer is the selected date. Alfternatively, if it is easier to correlate each slicer with its own chart (second image attached), that type of view could work as well.    

SS PBI.png

SS PBI2.png

fd3.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-jayw-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @noahiz917 ,

There's a relationship between two date tables, not doubt the changing one will affect the other.

You could try to delete or inactive the relationship and create a measure like below then add it to visual.

Measure = CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[value]),FILTER(ALL('Table'),'Table'[date]=SELECTEDVALUE('date2'[date])&&'Table'[type]=SELECTEDVALUE('Table'[type])))

1.PNG2.PNG

Best Regards,

Jay

Community Support Team _ Jay
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution
to help the other members find it.