Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Pull custom shape map (topoJSON) keys into table or tooltip?

Hi!

Newbie here. I've got some data on carbon emissions by county in the state of Georgia and I've successfully found a topoJSON file to display a Shape Map (see below). 

Bonnie447_2-1612815857076.png

When I view the map keys, I see this:

Bonnie447_1-1612815560835.png

The valuable piece of information from the above is the name of the county - I am wondering if it is possible to somehow have the county name display in the map tooltip (and if I could add it as a value to the table in the visualization also, that would be amazing, if there was a way to have it match up the County FIPS code column from that table to the county name from the JSON file...there is not a county name column in the source data I am working with).

Thanks in advance!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
timg
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi Bonnie, 

You can import your custom topojson file as a table and collect the values that way. Then you'll be able to use the key values in your visuals as well. 

1. go to getdata and choose the json source
  2. import your topojson file
  3. the tricky part, you have to navigate to the key information by expanding the records, and turning them into a table (check out a guide here: Using Power BI with JSON Data Sources and Files (mssqltips.com))
  4. create a relation between the geoid in the new geography table and the county column in the countyresemi table

Once the above steps are done you should have your new geography table ready for use with your other table.

Below you'll find an example of when I import a similar topojson file for Dutch municipalities.

1.PNG

good luck!

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!