Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Publishing content pack, connected to MS CRM Online OData source

Hi,

As a data analyst, i have connected to the OData source of MS CRM. Created a set of reports. Now I want to share these as a content pack with the sales team in my organization.

I have access to all the data whereas the sales team has access to the specific business unit as defined in CRM.

Challenge I face is, when I publish the report and dataset as content pack, the sales team get access to all the data that I can see. They see much more than what they should be. How do I control the access to excessive data ?

Regards,

Ashsih

5 REPLIES 5
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi Ashsih,

In addition to other post, as per this blog, content packs support for Row-Level Security(RLS) in Power BI Service April Update, however, the feature is still in Preview state.

You can review the following blog to get more details about how to configure RLS.
https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/power-bi-service-march-update-part-two/

Thanks,
Lydia Zhang

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Lydia,

Thanks for your inputs.

To use the RLS feature, I will have to define security in powerbi dataset isn't it (creating roles and defining the specific rules)? This will result in duplication of effort and maintenance overhead, as the user's access is determined by the unit to which they are allocated in CRM and we will have to replicate the same in PowerBI. Everytime a user is moved from one unit to the other or a new user is created within CRM, we will have to make that change in PowerBI.

Regards,

Ashish

@Anonymous wrote: