Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Ouytree
Frequent Visitor

Publishing an app with on premise data gateway and an excel file in onedrive

Hi all,

I'm a sysadmin and my organisation is looking more into powerbi where it can. One particular situation is we have an in-house time recording app that is all on premise with a sql db, so we've got a data gateway set up for it and thats all fine, but now the devs have just told me that they also use an excel file for extra information which currently sits in one of the devs OneDrive.

I'm trying to explore any pitfalls or implement some best practices now to future proof the company, and overall gain a better understanding of this.

The few ways I can see this going are:

1. Put the file on the data gateway server, make the folder it sits in a share so people can update it (which happens 3-4 times a day currently) then add it as a file data source.
  2. One dev shares the file through his one drive so others can modify it, and publishes this to powerbi pointing one of his data sources to one drive, the other to the on premise sql db
  3.  Create a sharepoint site specifically for the app and put the file(s) in there, share it with the devs and whoever makes updates to it 

My main concern has been what happens if its on the users onedrive and they change their domain password. I imagine it needs to be republished?

Any guidance or resources on this are greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

You have a close idea, but might be missing a key detail.

When you create your data source, in this case a place on sharepoint, you simply give access to the service.  This will be the same system that your SSO relies on.