Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ericOnline
Post Patron
Post Patron

Programmatically Expand and Manipulate JSON

Hello, 

I'm new to PowerBI so please bear with me if I'm missing some obvious functionality.

I have 20 JSON files with 20 columns each to import. Rather than click, click, click, to convert to a table and expand/drop/rename the columns, what is the programmatic method for importing JSON, expanding the column headings, dropping some columns, renaming, etc.?

powerBILineChart15.pngpowerBILineChart16.png

This is all manual for me at the moment and quite time consuming.

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

WOW! Just figured out the workflow. Pretty sweet!

Caveats:

• This is good for multiple .json files where the manipulation will be EXACTLY THE SAME
    • Example: All columns will be expanded, dropped, renamed, etc in the same way.

For others interested, here is the workflow I used:

1. Click Get Data
  2. Select JSON
  3. Select .json file
  4. Run through your manual manipulation of the JSON file
  5. Once complete, click Home Tab
  6. Click Advanced Editor
  7. The DAX that was being compiled in the background is displayed
  8. Select all and copy
  9. Click New Source
  10. Select JSON
  11. Select another .json file
  12. Click Home Tab
  13. Click Advanced Editor
  14. Paste in the DAX
  15. CRITICAL: Change the file path to the correct file name!
  16. Click ok
  17. BOOM! your .json file has just been manipulated in the same fashion as the initial file

Hope this helps!

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
v-frfei-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ericOnline,

Please refer to this blog.

Regards,

Frank

Community Support Team _ Frank
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the others find it more quickly.