Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

cheid1977
Helper I
Helper I

Problems sending Power BI Desktop to others while connected to SQL Server

I created a dashboard through Power BI Desktop that was connected a SQL Server. I sent the dashboard others in my department who also are connected to the SQL Server, but for some reason the dashboard won't show up on their computer. Am I not allowed to send a dashboard to others while connected to SQL even when they have the same connection?

5 REPLIES 5
cheid1977
Helper I
Helper I

I just tried entering my credentials in both windows and database.  I got the "User Not Authorized" message using my credentials. I am fairly new to this. Is there somewhere I am supposed to go to authorize access so I don't get this message?  Everyone I sent the file to can access the server with no problems through MS Access.  Could this be an SQL Server configuration issue?

I thought about changing the source data file to look at a folder containing the actual SQL raw data files instead of the SQL server so I can import the data.  However, I haven't been able to find out how to change the source data from SQL to folder.  If I could do this then my problems would go away.

Most likely the access to the SQL server made through the Access Database is done with a specific sql login (guessing here - could be a specific domain account, but usually not).  Suggest finding out from your IT/DBA what credentials they would like you to use.  With the error you are getting, does not look like your domain account has access. 

cheid1977
Helper I
Helper I