Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ContabilidadBI
Helper III
Helper III

Problem with DATESMTD

Hello guys,

I am new to power BI and I have been struggling to make a simple month to date sales card for a few hours. Here is the formula:

MTD de Total = CALCULATE(SUM(Albaranes[Total]);DATESMTD(Calendario[Fecha]))

And here is the fact table of sales and the Calendar table:

Captura.PNG

Now we are in May, so I should be getting the sum of sales amount since 1/5/2017 until today: 4/5/2017 .  Instead I am getting BLANK as the output. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for all the help and learning I am getting from this forum!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Your english is great!

*if* you calendar stopped at the end of May... this would work fine.

Ignoring that, you can add a calc column on your calendar table:

IsCurrentMonth = IF (MONTH(TODAY()) = MONTH(MyCalendar[Date]), TRUE(), FALSE())

Then set a filter on the card visual to IsCurrentMonth = TRUE  ?

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14

What is in the Fecha column?  It needs to be a date type for it to work

* Matt is an 8 times Microsoft MVP (Power BI) and author of the Power BI Book Supercharge Power BI.

Hi Matt, thanks for your answer.

Fecha is Date, and it has Date format, is the primary key of the Calendar Table. I have used other time inteligence fuctions such as PREVIOUSMONTH() without any problem.

Here you can see the Calendar table:

Captura.PNG

Thanks.

Anonymous
Not applicable

My best guess is that in your fact table, you have dates WITH time -- which won't match up w/ your calendar table, which doesn't have times.   If that is the case, you need to strip off the times in the fact table.

Hi Scottsen, thanks for your reply.

In the sales table, the date is just a date without time.