Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Problem conditionally counting rows

Hello,

I am new to Power BI and i'm trying to create a report where i'm counting the amount of rows in a table of state transition records (with a value for an old state and a new state per row) represent certain transitions. I have managed to filter out the transitions by creating a report-wide filter that removes rows with unwanted states (example):

The problem is, there are a few transitions where i need to have my count reduced by one (say, in the example i want the count of 42->5 transitions to be 2, but i want to have the count of 24->5 transitions to be 4). I tried creating a calculated column with the following DAX:

attempt1 =
if( 'merge journals details'[old_status]="24"
    ; //True
        CALCULATE(COUNTROWS('merge journals details')-1)
    ; //False
        CALCULATE(COUNTROWS('merge journals details'))
    )

However, this seems to cause the subtraction to be applied to every iteration of the count, causing the count to become zero for the 24->5 transitions, and some values seem a bit "weird". I attempted to create measures to count the amounts independently of the row context, and that works for displaying the subtracted value in a table, but as soon as i reference the measure in the calculated column, the result is the same. The table shows the "weirdness" i mentioned earlier, i suspect it is subtracting one for each counted element except the filtered ones:

attempt2 =
if( 'merge journals details'[old_status]="24"
    ; //True
        [countMinusOne]
    ; //False
        [wholeCount]
    )