Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Price weighted average on 25% of the volume

Hello Power BI community,

I have been working on Power BI for a few months now and I would like to carry out a measure that would allow me to calculate the weighted average on 25% of my values, let me explain myself:
I have an Excel file (https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/omo3a...8dqkaiyjk0jxkp) which gathers all the data for a year of production (about 150 000 lines) with 6 columns: Month Year, Product code, Production line, Unit sold, Forecasted unit sold and Price (k€).
My objective: to calculate the weighted average price over a quarter of the total sales volume. At the end, I would like this measure to return a value in €/unit sold, i.e. the weighted average price for the 25% of my products that have the lowest price/unit sold.
On the attached graph, I have tried to graphically represent what I want. It shows 1 year of production, each colour is a product and the height of the rectangle is the number of units sold.
I tried to draw in red what I wanted. Graph weighted averageGraph weighted average
The horizontal red line represents a quarter of the total volume of units sold (about 475/4 = 120) (this is different from the 1st quartile of a serie).
Hence, I want to calculate the weighted average price of products that have 0 to approximately 120 units sold (graphically reading).
Weighted average = Sum of the price (k€)/Sum of the number of units*1000 -> Results in €/ unit

I hope that someone will understand my explanation and can help me on this point... as I am struggling with it for a while now. That would be really great.

Thanks to all of you!

8 REPLIES 8
v-robertq-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @Anonymous