Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

henri_lilja

Pretty new to Power BI and DAX.

Hello everyone!

I'm pretty new to Power BI and DAX. I was referred to this by my colleague who wants me to find out if we can use it as an instrument to provide data to our clients. We used to use scheduling software that did all this us, but were forced switch to a more limited one for this project. So any help would be appreciated 🙂

We have data similar to Pic1, with task names and dates and so on.

The big idea here is to able to show the relevant data to people. The flow would be in the Draft1 (and because I drew it myself I'll be explaining it here :D)

(1) In the first level of the line chart we want to show the overall timeline for our project

(2) After that we want to provide more detailed data for the separate sections of the project

(3) And thirdly we want to show what is happening in those sections by laying out the Task progress.

I've been going through tutorials and try-and-fail for a couple of days now. I'm able to do all of them separately, except #3. In Pic2 is a illustration how I solved them individually in their own charts.

So my questions:

1: Is it possible to create a drillthrough chart including all the 3 steps?

2: Is there a better way to create a line chart for step 3 (date on x-axis, percentage on y, lines for the tasks start at 0% on start date and end at 100% on the end date) than create a new table for each task and calculate the values for each day?

Pic1.jpgPic2.jpgPic3.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Alrighty, thanks for your reply Seward12533!

It indeed is quite a bit different and yet it isn't 😄 Or at least the very basic is similar to PowerPivoting in Excel or so because with that logic I was able to create the first simple visualizations.