Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

CPhelan
Frequent Visitor

PowerBI to Query AD Group Memberships

Hello,

I'm relatively new to powerbi.  I came up with a series of powerbi reports to show Active Directory group memberships.  I used powershell to querry a list of users of an AD group then return their full group memberships,  along with SAMaccountname, Mail, UPN, First Name, Last Name, Title, Department, Division, Department Number, Primary Affiliation, and whether the user account is Enabled.  The data from the script is exported to a CSV file then I build my report in powerbi.  This is not a very eligant solution but it works for my first intention which was to report which retired staff still had access across my organization. These powerbi reports allow me to easily querry user group memberships at a glance instead of running a 1:1 script.  The biggest downside, I need to re-run the powershell script then re-import the tables in my report to get the most current data.  I've got 56 different reports so far.  

Now what I'd like to do is use the Active Directory data source directly in PowerBI, so I have the most current data and replicate the functionality of the individual reports.  This has proven to be a pretty difficult task.  I've added these Tables from the AD source: Group, inetOrgPerson, and user so far.  

my biggest obstacles:

show enabled and disabled user accounts

Connect the Group table to inetOrgPerson in order to return user Group memberships.  

I would apreciate any help at all.

Charles

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
CPhelan
Frequent Visitor

Hi  @v-alq-msft ,