Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

boldwake
Frequent Visitor

PowerBI disagrees that my values are Unique

HI experts,

I am new to PowerBI but absolutley LOVE it.   I have been able to successfully join and create relationships across a number of my data tables.  However, I just encountered an error saying that I can't create a relationsihp between two tables bc i need to have unique values in one of the tables.  I fully understand this concept and have crated successfully linked tables before.  My issue is that I am fairly certain that PowerBI is wrong and that I have unique values. 

Issue:

1) imported data with that had sales and two additional columns a "Sales_Cat_ID" and a name "Sales_Cat Name".  Typically, there are 9 "Sales_Cat_ID"s and anything else should be grouped into "Sales_Cat_ID" = "867", which has the "Sales_Cat_Name" = "OTHER".  However the data I pulled in had 85 "Sales_Cat_IDs" (i.e. 9 standard categories & 1 other category"   The remaining 75 sales_cat_ids are all mistakes and should be grouped into "Other"

2) I used Power BI to give me a unique list of "Sales_Cat_ID"s that I opened in excel and added a name column for the 9 categories and made the descriptoin "Other" for all the other categoriess

3) I double checked that my values for "Sales_Cat_ID" were unique in excel and importated the new excel table into PowerBi

4) when I tried to join this new unique table with an exisitng one, Power BI keeps telling me that at least one column in one of the tables needs to be unique, which is confusing me bc I'm reallly certain that the table i imported has only unique values for "Sales_Cat_ID" bc (A) i pulled it from Power BI and (B) I double chedked that there were no duplicates in excel before importing the table. 

Any ideas as to what I am doing wrong?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION