Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

vnchoudhary
Frequent Visitor

PowerBI desktop 64Bit oracle connection error Object reference not set to an instance of an object

I am new to PowerBI desktop, I have installed PowerBI 64 bit. I have already Oracle client and Visual studio installed on my machine. As recomended on Link I have downloaded and configured  64-bit ODAC 12c Release 4 (12.1.0.2.4) Xcopy for Windows x64. After doing all these thing I am not able to establish connection between PowerBI desktop and Oracle DB getting error message once I fill the db connection details is "Object reference not set to an instance of an object" . However I am able to establish connection with SQL server. 

Here are some details that may Help you in providing solution of this:

- I have Visual studio 2010

- Then I installed oracle client in location ""C:\Program Files (x86)\sqldeveloper"

- Then I have installed the Power BI desktop 64 Bit

- Then I have downloaded the 64-bit ODAC

- Extract ODAC121024Xcopy_x64 and run install batch file from path "C:\Program Files (x86)\Oracle_instantclient_12_1"

- Open PowerBi desktop, select getdata and select Oracle DB. specified DB connection details and getting "Object reference not set to an instance of an object"

Could you please help me out in this issue

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi Viveka,

I'm definitely not an expert on Oracle databases or connecting to them.  I can only tell you what worked for me.  One thing I notice is that you installed the "Xcopy" files and I'm wondering if for some reason you didn't get all the files you need.

Also, there are several posts under the subject "Oracle" that have useful info that may help you.  If you do decide to reinstall the Oracle components, you need to uninstall what you've already done first.