Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

PowerBI Crashing, General Consensus Tips

Hi all,

I am having some issues with my PowerBI desktop. I find it crashing abruptly whenever I am using it. I am typically using Excel files as data sources. In my last iteration, I was using a ~4000 KB file. With 13 columns of data and less than 100,000 rows of data. It is crashing constantly, at different stages. Sometimes upon export. Sometimes as I am creating a measure. 

I am fairly new to PowerBI and saw there were many posts about the topic throughout the years. Is there a general consensus on best methods or steps to take to troubleshoot this to diagnose the problem?

Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!! 

6 REPLIES 6
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@Anonymous - Did you ever get your issue resolved?

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi! I am working off of an older version of Power BI (March 2020), but this has been an issue even when I had the most updated version.

Following one of the guides, I was able to access my Trace/Log files after generating a forced crash.

For this crash, I was getting a message saying that I was out of memory. In other instances, I do not always get this.

It seems odd to me that I am out of memory for a file that isn't that large. Is there something in the log file that I should be looking at?

Hi @Anonymous ,

Try to check the memory usage.

v-lionel-msft_0-1600157150588.png

Best regards,
Lionel Chen