Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

101Mathew
Resolver II
Resolver II

Power Query - Change Monthly figures to monthly rolling 12

Inside of Power Query...

Is there a method to change my current monthly figures, to a monthly rolling 12

So instead of: -

Date    Office Code    GWP

Jan18   AA                   £100

Feb18  AA                   £100

etc...

too...

Date    Office Code    GWP

Jan18   AA                   £1200

Feb18  AA                   £1200

etc...

Per office code?

Rolling 12 months is the sum of an offices GWP from the latest month back an additional 11 months

I'm guess, this would need to be some type of function but as I'm rather new to Power Query I'm unsure how to begin.

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@101Mathew

You can use a Custom Column like this one
Please see the attached Excel file's Query Editor

let 
   myOffice=[Office Code],
   myDate=[Date]
       in

List.Sum(
Table.MaxN(
Table.SelectRows(SortedRows,each [Office Code]=myOffice and [Date]<= myDate),
          "Date",
          12)[GWP]
         )

Regards
Zubair

Please try my custom visuals

View solution in original post

@101Mathew

I think I am getting correct and fast results using the same formula with your data

I am attaching the Excel file. Please see the Query Editor

rollingsum.png

Regards
Zubair

Hi @ImkeF@Zubair_Muhammad@parry2k,

Solution found, 

it was as simple as adding =Table.Buffer() in the SortRows step

= Table.Buffer(Table.Sort(#"Renamed Columns",{{"Office Code", Order.Ascending}, {"DateME", Order.Ascending}}))

This was super-fast, thanks and credit goes Ken Puls via Power Query Academy for enlightening me on this section.  I had a feeling that it had to do with power query not 'seeing' the data per the actions of the previous steps.