Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

KJ
Regular Visitor

Power BI report compare multiple rows to find growth percent

Hi,

I am new to power BI and trying to figure out things, But dont have time in hand want to design a simple report to show percentage value increased  over time for a resource

I am pulling data from sharepoint online list, I got the data in Power BI.

This is the sample data in which i have shown 4 items with three enteries on different date, I have 600 items with multiple date enteries. I want to show a bar graph or line graph with date slider on top to show which top 10 items have grown maximum in the selected date period.

I have tried to search tutorials and look for similar example but could not find much, Please share explanatory steps as i am not much familiar with functions in power bi.

Data Schema.

SiteJobRunDateValue
A3-Apr-17203050
B3-Apr-171254
C3-Apr-17321
D3-Apr-17444
A10-Apr-17203350
B10-Apr-171294
C10-Apr-17500
D10-Apr-17555
A17-Apr-17205550
B17-Apr-171344
C17-Apr-17800
D17-Apr-17666

Thanks,

KJ 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
bblais
Resolver III
Resolver III

I  created a JobRuns table with your sample data in it:

First I created measures for the MIN and MAX values.  Because they are measures, they will calculate within a given context, so they should give you MIN/MAX for whatever date range you filter by (and site).  Be careful not to use these without a site filter or they will potentially give you incorrect data:

Min Site Value = MIN(JobRuns[Value])
Max Site Value = MAX(JobRuns[Value])

Now just add a measure to calculate the percent change.  Again, since this is contextual, it will give you the percent change over whatever time period you have sliced:

Pct Increase = DIVIDE([Max Site Value]-[Min Site Value],[Min Site Value])