Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

gckcmc
Resolver I
Resolver I

Power BI query to loop through a bunch of data sources?

OK Data nuts....I'm a newbie to Power BI, and am learning as I go....my programming background made me think initially of looping here, but have read in the forums that I'll be shot if I ask for this. 🙂

Here's my situation: I'm connecting to an Analysis Services data source.  In this source they have a parameterized cube I wish to use, and one of the mandatory fields is a project code.  I can't give a list or multiple values, and I have at least 25 of them to go through.  I need an appended query with all of them in one table.

I originally setup individual queries and called the interface each time, and then did an append query to glue them all together.  while tedious and error prone if I got the codes wrong, it is working.

I am assuming the codes will change over time, as will other parameters in this interface...so I setup a local table that would have the values needed, and I wanted to use them (thus the looping idea) to be used as variables in the Cube.Transform calls.

Any helpful ideas would be appreciated where I could take a column of project codes and iterate through them to make cube.transform calls and append (either as I go or the end)?

thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Start from your local table that holds all the variables/parameter and add a column to it where you make your API call, thereby referencing the column(s) with your variables where needed. That will return a colum with all the values from the different rows of your table that you can simply expand. So no need to loop for this task.

If your code changes, you just have to edit it once, in this Table.AddColumn-step.

Imke Feldmann (The BIccountant)