Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

JonasBI
Helper I
Helper I

Power BI licensing/ pricing

Hi everyone,

I'm rather new to PowerBI and my employer asked me, to find out the difference between Pro, Premium per user, Premium per capacity when it comes to publishing and sharing reports. 

We do have a Pro license but I'm wondering why you can not publish and share with a Premium per capacity?bi.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
TomMartens
Super User
Super User

Hey @JonasBI ,

I admit that the table can be difficult to read.

The two leftmost licensing options "Power BI Pro" and "Premium Per User" are user centric, meaning each individual user needs one of the licenses either Pro or PPU.

The rightmost most license plan "Premium Per Capacity" assumes that users who consume content from within a Power BI App (this is not the same as a Power BI workspace) do not need a Pro license, as these users can access the app content with a Free Power BI license assigned. Users who have a free license assigned can not share content or publish to a Power BI App workspace.
This is what the table states - Premium Per Capacity does not provide single users (as these users have a free license assigned) with the ability to share or publish content. 

You are absolutely correct - you can publish a Report (a Power BI Desktop file) to a Premium Per Capacity workspace if this user has a Pro license assigned. To be more precise, a user must have a Pro license assigned (at least).

Hopefully, this clarifies things.

Regards,

Tom

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution, this will help others!

Proud to be a Super User!
I accept Kudos 😉
Hamburg, Germany

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
samwillam
Helper I
Helper I