Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mayork
Regular Visitor

Power BI % change based on columns.

I am new to power bi and am slowly learning as I go. 

I have several columns brought into power BI.

Eg.

2020 Vol, 2019 Vol, Vol Variance.

I want to show the absolute volume variance which is what I see, but I also want to be able to divide it into the base year to show a percentage change vs the prior year.  I believe I want to do this by adding a column but I have not yet mastered the language to get it to do what I need.

Can you help.  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
dax
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @mayork , 

You could refer to my sample for details

Best Regards,
Zoe Zhi

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@mayork Not entirely certain, but perhaps:

New Column = DIVIDE([2020 Vol] - [2019 Vol], [2019 Vol])

or perhaps just

New Column = DIVIDE([2020 Vol], [2019 Vol])​

If none of that helps, please see this post regarding How to Get Your Question Answered Quickly: https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/How-to-Get-Your-Question-Answered-Quickly/ba-p/38490

The most important parts are:
1. Sample data as text, use the table tool in the editing bar
2. Expected output from sample data
3. Explanation in words of how to get from 1. to 2.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

Hi Greg, thanks for trying to help.