Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

AndyCJohnston
Frequent Visitor

Power BI - Need to count distinct users within a BIN date group

Hi, I'm kinda new to this, but have a good programming history.  I've looked around for different solutions to this, and have not come up with anything I can use.

Raw data is "CreateDate" (of type date), and "CreatorName" with the users AD username.

I have a table with dates.   I've used a Bin by 1 day to create a table with different count values. This one just counts all the records in the table.

bin-table.jpg

The Bin for "Create Date" is this:

Bin-Days.jpg

I created a simple Column for "Create Count" which is "Create Count = 1".   I have some other sum/if columns that also work ok.  

Stuff like this works well (and groups by the BIN):  

Created by Andy = IF(
    ISERROR(
        SEARCH("Andy Johnston", Table[CreatorName])
    ),
)

The PROBLEM! - DISTINCT USER COUNT.

I need a distinct count of each user per bin (the bin in this case is the day, but I have month bins too) - so, every distinct user that's got a record on that given day?

I've tried a few different ways that I've found on here, but to no avail.   This is the latest one I've got.  (but I am not bound to this method - I just hoped it would work, but doesn't as you can see above)

Create Distinct Users = var _table = SUMMARIZE(Table,Table[CreateDate (Bin)],"distinctcount",DISTINCTCOUNT(Table[CreatorName]))
return
SUMX(_table,[distinctcount])

Any help would be much appreciated....maybe it's just the end of the day and I can't see the forrest for the trees!!??!!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Ashish_Mathur
Super User
Super User

Hi,

May be i am over simplifying this but drag Date/Month from the Date Table and write this measure

=DISTINCTCOUNT(Table[CreatorName])

Regards,
Ashish Mathur