Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Aluminum

Power BI Gateway Data on Report and/or Dashboard

I am very new at Power BI.  I have setup a Power BI gateway that is connected to an Azure SQL Server.  The connection works fine in my gateway.  I cannot find where I connect a report data source to Power BI gateway.  I only see Get Data options like Get Data -> SQL Server.  I cannot figure out how to user my Power BI gateway as a data source.  I also searched for creating a new data set based on a Power BI Gateway.  

I want to give the end user the ability to view data in a table on an Azure database.  The Power BI gateway connection works great.  It is not intuitive to me in the Power BI desktop how to consume this Power BI gateway data connection.  

3 REPLIES 3

I have successfully configured my Power BI gateway to work with my Azure server.  How do I now add the table in Azure to my report from the Power BI gateway connection?  I only see a way to directly get data from the Azure server from the Get Data option. I do not see a way to take advantage of the Gateway connection.  The articles shared so far do not provide any information on how to do that.

Hi @Aluminum ,

The data gateway acts as a bridge to provide quick and secure data transfer between on-premises data (data that isn't in the cloud) and several Microsoft cloud services. The gateway is consume in Power BI Service instead of Power BI Desktop.

That is to say that only when you publish your pbix file from Power BI Desktop to Power BI Service,  the users need to view or edit report in Power BI Service, and your dataset contains on premise data source or combines on-premises and cloud data sources at the same time, then the gateway is needed to install for getting further latest data.  See more: On-premises data gateway .