Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jamezcua9
Helper I
Helper I

Power BI Desktop DATESMTD Measure

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Power BI and currently using PBI Desktop to develope and publish.  I'm having trouble with a measure that is not calculating the date corretly.  I have 2 queries with a relationship connected together.  

This is my measure : 

MonthTarget = CALCULATE(SUM('Cluster Plan'[AVERAGE_PER_DAY_US]),DATESMTD('Cluster Plan'[PLAN_DATE]),FILTER('Cluster Plan','Cluster Plan'[CLUSTER_PLAN_DATE]<TODAY()))

Since we now switched over to March 2019, the measure is calculating the same target KPI on every single date. 
Any idea on how I can accomplish the correct measure total based on the date/month?  
2019-03-04_10-20-26.jpg

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
bogomda
Helper II
Helper II

DATESMTD resets counting every month. you probably don't have any records  for "Cluster Plan"[AVERAGE_PER_DAY_US] for months of March yet.

Another problem could be that DATESMTD is not applied to calendar table (table which is related to fact table with dates starting from Jan 1 through Dec 31 and daily granularity).

without seeing that model it's hard to fix the problem.

View solution in original post

v-chuncz-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@jamezcua9 ,

For any time intelligence function, you could implement a custom DAX formula.

https://www.sqlbi.com/articles/time-intelligence-in-power-bi-desktop/

Community Support Team _ Sam Zha
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-chuncz-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@jamezcua9 ,

For any time intelligence function, you could implement a custom DAX formula.