Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

AUaero
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

Plot incidents versus time, months with no data

Hi,

I'm pretty new to power bi and I'm having a little trouble figuring this out.

I've got a tabular model running on SSAS that I've connected to Power BI Desktop.  One of my measures is a count of incidents.  I want to plot the incidents on a column chart by month for the last 12 months.  I've set up my chart as follows:

• Axis = Month
  • Values = Incidents
  • Filters = Trailing_12_Mo_Filter

The Trailing _12_Mo_Filter is a field on my Calendar table that flags any dates that fall within the last 12 months.

My X-Axis is set as Continuous.

I've had two incidents in the last 12 months (Sep 15 and Oct 15), so I expected my chart would plot the data as:

Jul 15      0

Aug 15    0

Sep 15    1

Oct 15    1

Nov 15    0

Dec 15    0

Jan 16     0

Feb 16    0

Mar 16    0

Apr 16    0

May 16   0

Jun 16    0

Instead, I get a chart with the following

Sep 1    1

Sep 6    0

Sep 13  0

Sep 20  0

Sep 27  0

Oct 1    0

So I have two questions:

1. How can I force Power BI to plot months with no data?
  2. How can I force Power BI to display the X-axis labels as months rather than interpolating dates?

Thanks! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@AUaero

In this scenario, you can create another table which includes the date of last 12 months in Power BI. Then add a calculated column which converts the year and month to a number. So that you can use the converted 12 numbers as the X-Axis value. For more details, please refer to following steps:

1. Create a new date table for last 12 months.
    YearMonthTable =
    DATESINPERIOD ( CalendarTable[Date], MAX ( CalendarTable[Date] ), -12, MONTH )

2. Add a calculated column which represents the year and month.
    Year_Month =